2015 Graduate Student Mentoring Award

Release Date: October 27 2015

The winners of the 2015 Graduate Student Mentoring Award, designed to reward graduate students who help other students of all ages to succeed in the classroom, were announced on Tuesday, October 27, 2015 during the Graduate Student Research Day awards ceremony. Six students from different backgrounds were chosen from 48 highly competitive applications to receive recognition and a $500 prize.

Each applicant was required to submit a list of their accomplishments, awards received, leadership positions held, and a summary of their mentoring philosophy during their time at UF. Each applicant was also required to provide letters of recommendation from their faculty advisor and another person who their mentoring has personally affected. Applications were judged by faculty and staff from across campus who have previously shown excellence in mentoring.

The winners of the 2015 Graduate Student Mentoring Award are:

Christina Graves, College of Medicine, Oral Biology

Barukh Rohde, College of Engineering, Electrical & Computer Engineering

Brian Mahon, College of Medicine, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Brad Fawver, College of Health and Human Performance, Applied Physiology and Kinesiology

Liz Redford, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, Psychology

Abigail Rosen Hernandez, College of Medicine, Neuroscience